Winter Ramblings

I hold my hands up: I am a fair weather walker! I have been on some Winter walks but none seemed far enough afield to warrant posting.

For a month over Christmas, I had my eldest son, Albert home from uni who was desperate to relieve his boredom by coming walking with me (no bribes involved)! I made him scramble to the top of Burrow Mump, which was going to be the start of this walk but it started to rain quite heavily, so we abandoned.

It was quite interesting to see how much the Somerset Levels have flooded already this year.

I enjoyed a very hilly walk around the town and country lanes of Wiveliscombe which took me back to my childhood, visiting my Grandmother. We used to visit most Sundays and I always took myself off walking then. One of the Green Lanes (think this is called Jews Lane) below:

2016-12-31-15-06-06-hdr

Sometimes, though, it is great to discover new routes on your doorstep. I discovered this footpath which diverts off the West Deane way towards Nynehead and I have made this one of my “need to get some walking done without having to get in the car” routes!

2017-01-22-10-18-34

One thought on “Winter Ramblings

Leave a Reply

